Python script to bring all files from subfolders to main folder


A usual plight with me is bringing all photos I transfer from my phone to one folder. My phone transfer creates a subfolder for each date it has a pic for.

This was till I discovered the module shutil. (No, I knew about it for around _4 months, but I was too lazy to actually write the code 😛 )

This code I have written is meant to be cross-platform. In case of any discrepancies, please do tell.

import shutil
import os

# copy all the files in the subfolders to main folder

# The current working directory
dest_dir = os.getcwd()
# The generator that walks over the folder tree
walker = os.walk(dest_dir)

# the first walk would be the same main directory
# which if processed, is
# redundant
# and raises shutil.Error
# as the file already exists

rem_dirs = walker.next()[1]

for data in walker:
for files in data[2]:
try:
shutil.move(data[0] + os.sep + files, dest_dir)
except shutil.Error:
# still to be on the safe side
continue

# clearing the directories
# from whom we have just removed the files
for dirs in rem_dirs:
shutil.rmtree(dest_dir + os.sep + dirs)


 

Since the code is all documented, I would skip the explanation here.

Please comment, share or like the post. (Good for my writing spirit 🙂 )

Explore posts in the same categories: Python, Windows

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Python script to bring all files from subfolders to main folder”

  1. Nate Says:

    This worked like a charm and was exactly what I have been on the search for! Thank you and very well documented

  2. Rocco Says:

    This was exactly what I needed when I realized that the script I had to put files into dated directories was working in UTC, but I needed local time. This allowed me to back everything out and start over.

    Perfect!


Leave a Reply

